EYFS Milestones

Much of the learning in Early Years Foundation Stage is done through carefully planned play and teacher directed challenges and activities.  Such activities follow the 7 areas of learning which make up the Foundation stage curriculum.  Since our virtual new starter parents meeting in the summer term, we are delighted to announce that we have taken the exciting decision, to be one of a number of schools nationally leading the way in Early Years Practice, by becoming ‘Early Adopters’  of the new Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, which will be statutory from September 2021.  The curriculum is broken down as follows;

Prime Areas:

Personal, Social & Emotional Development


Managing Self

Building Relationships

Communication & Language

Listening, Attention & Understanding


Physical Development

Gross Motor Skills

Fine motor Skills

Specific Areas:



Word Reading




Numerical Patterns

Understanding the World

Past & Present

People, Culture & Communities

The Natural World

Expressive Arts & Design

Creating with Materials

Being Imaginative & Expressive

Attached as downloadable documents to this page are;

  • A summary of the new Development Matters framework.  This is used to identify possible areas in which to challenge and extend children's current learning and development during their time in the Early Years Foundation Stage, (Nursery through to the end of Reception)
  • An overview of the new Early Learning Goals under the new EYFS Framework.  As an Early Adopter school, your child will be assessed against these specifically at the end of this academic year 2020-2021.

Files to Download

We would love to hear from you
Gawsworth Primary School
Longbutts Lane, Gawsworth, Cheshire, SK11 9QU

Student Login